Top Story


Home >> ima >> Article

Coke, McCann sweep Dainik Bhaskar Indian Marketing Awards

Font Size   16
Coke, McCann sweep Dainik Bhaskar Indian Marketing Awards

It was an altogether different Wednesday for Indian marketing. It was the day to honour excellence in the field of marketing. And the Capital witnessed a congregation of advertising, media and corporate glitterati responding to the Dainik Bhaskar Indian Marketing Award 2004 at the swanky Convention Hall of Hotel Ashoka.

The exchange4media-initiated marketing award ceremony – the first of its kind in India, boasted of a jury panel comprising some of the most respected names like Ranjan Kapur, Country Head, WPP India, Aniruddha Lahiri, MD, ABP Group, Sunil Duggal, CEO, Dabur, Bob Hoekstra, CEO, Philips Software, Prema Sagar, Principal & Founder, Genesis Public Relations, Nirvik Singh, Chairman – South East Asia, Grey Global Group, Subhinder Singh Prem, MD, Reebok India, Pranesh Misra, President & COO, Lowe India, RK Caprihan, marketing consultant and Vijay Singh, MD, LG Care.

Presenting his address, Chief Guest of the evening Jaswant Singh, Member of Parliament and former Union Finance Minister in the NDA cabinet, described excellence as a never-ending search and urged the marketing fraternity to go beyond the knowledge acquired through formal education.

McCann Erickson largely dominated the Dainik Bhaskar Indian Marketing Award. While Santosh Desai, President McCann-Erickson India, clinched the Advertising Person (Business) of the Year award, recognition for the Advertising Person (Creative) of the Year went to Prasoon Joshi, National Creative Director and Executive VP, McCann-Erickson India. The honour for the Media Person of the Year went to Prannoy Roy of NDTV, and Sam Balsara, MD, Madison, was named the Media Services Person of the Year. The award for the Marketing Person of the Year went to Harit Nagpal of Hutch. The Marketing Hall of Fame, which recognises the lifetime contribution of an individual to not only his organisation but also to the industry, was dedicated to the late marketing guru, Shunu Sen.

With ‘marketing communication’ being the special focus of this year’s awards, a number of awards for the Most Successful Marketing Initiatives in categories like Food & Beverage, Lifestyle Products, Automobiles, Services, Media, etc, were up for contention. Apart from these, a number of specialist awards for Creative Brand Communications were presented in categories like Television Campaign of the Year, Other Media Campaign, Print Campaign along with a host of Individual Awards in the marketing-communication fold. Coke swept a number of awards in these categories. Alongside being chosen as the Marketing Company of the Year, the cola major romped home with the awards for the most successful marketing initiatives and building up the most effective creative brand communication.

Speaking on the initiative, Sunil Duggal, CEO, Dabur, said, “It is a one-of-a-kind initiative which looks at marketing in its entirety – paying attention to the Four Ps and lots more”.

Describing the jury selection process as “intensive”, Bob Hoekstra, CEO, Philips Software, said, “The jury consisted of a set of people who were deeply involved with the entire process. The very fact that the jury did not announce an award in a particular category shows the level of involvement”.

The event was simulcast to a select audience comprising some of the eminent professionals from the marketing, advertising and media industries in Mumbai. The Indian Marketing Awards promises to be an annual event dedicated to recognising world-class talent and initiatives in the marketing world.

Dainik Bhaskar Indian Marketing Awards: All the Winners

I. Marketing Awards for Successful Marketing Initiatives
1 Food & Beverages Coke (Paanch)
2 Lifestyle Products Tanishq
3 Durables, Automobiles & Accessories Philips DVD
4 Services HP Gas
5 Media JJKN (Jassi Jaisi Koi Nahin)
6 Baby Products Huggies
Specialists Awards for Creative Brand Communications
7 TV Campaign Coke
8 Print Campaign None
9 Other Mass Media
Zee News
10 Below the Line
11 New Media
Aaj Tak
12 Campaign of the Year
Aaj Tak
III Individual Awards
13 Advertising Person of the Year (Business)
Santosh Desai
14 Advertising Person of the Year (Creative)
Prasoon Joshi
15 Media Person of the Year Prannoy Roy
16 Media Services Person of the Year Sam Balsa
17 Marketing Person of the Year
Harit Nagpal
18 Marketing Hall of Fame
Shunu Sen
IV Corporate Awards for Success, Creativity and Talent
19 Advertising Agency of the Year
McCann Erickson
20 Brand Relaunch of the Year
Dabur Chawanprash
21 New Brand Launch of the Year Jassi
22 Marketing Company of the Year


Kranti Gada joined the family business at Shemaroo in 2006 after a successful stint of over two years in marketing at Pepsi Co. She has been associated with the company for 12 years.

Exchange4media interacted with Jaspreet Chandok, Vice President and Head (Fashion) , IMG Reliance Pvt. Ltd on seamless brands integrations planned for Lakme Fashion Week, walking tall despite blazing trails like GST, demonetization and being a part of the larger cultural space

Their strategy to educate the consumers to make well informed decisions at all stages has worked out well.

Bobby Pawar, MD, CCO - South Asia, Publicis India, talks about his idea of chilling out

V-Guard Industries, a household name for consumer electrical appliances in India, has revamped its logo in order to reflect the strength gained by the brand over the years. The company has also unveil...

The report reveals that there has been nearly 5 times more growth in video consumption in the last 12 months, with 96 percent of all usage being focused on long form video

Gopalan currently leads the Indonesia operations of P&G, and will be taking over from April 1st, 2018 as Al Rajwani is set to retire after 37 years with the company.