Top Story


Home >> Advertising >> Article

CNN Young Journalist Award 2007: Mint’s Priyanka Pathak Narain, NDTV 24x7’s Anchal Vohra bag top honours

Font Size   16
CNN Young Journalist Award 2007: Mint’s Priyanka Pathak Narain, NDTV 24x7’s Anchal Vohra bag top honours

CNN International, in association with CNN-IBN, Outlook and ITC WelcomGgroup, announced the winners of CNN Young Journalist Awards (YJA) 2007. In addition to the existing categories, two new awards have been instituted this year – ‘CNN Journalist Award’ and ‘CNN Photo Journalist Award’. The other categories of the awards this year were ‘CNN Young Journalist Award’, ‘CNN Aspiring Journalist Award’ and ‘CNN Citizen Journalist Award’.

While the CNN Journalist Award salutes the best of insightful Indian and Pakistani journalists and their courage in highlighting controversial issues and concerns of their respective societies, the CNN Photo Journalist Award recognises the rich tradition and contribution photojournalists have made to journalism in India and Pakistan.

Priyanka Pathak Narain from Mint, Mumbai; and Anchal Vohra from NDTV 24x7, New Delhi, won the ‘CNN Young Journalist of the Year 2007’ awards in the print/online and television categories, respectively. Pathak’s print story ‘Sethusamudram series’, and Anchal’s television story ‘Abuse in Ghaziabad Ashram’, were chosen as the best winning entries from the gamut of entries received from across India and Pakistan. Both winners have won all-expense paid trip to the News Xchange Conference 2008, an internationally recognised networking forum for broadcasters and media professionals across the globe.

Ananya Sengupta, from The Telegraph, Mumbai, was adjudged Runner-up in the print/online category for her story ‘Heartbreak House’, while Maryiam Pervaiz from Dawn News, Lahore, won the Runner-up award in the television category for her story ‘Chained People’. Both have won a Nokia N-Series phone, trophy and citation.

The ‘CNN Aspiring Journalist Award’ in the television category went to Subuhi Khan from Indian Institute of Mass Communication (IIMC), New Delhi, who has won a month-long internship with the CNN-IBN bureau in New Delhi or Mumbai. Nina Mehta from Asian College of Journalism, Chennai was adjudged winner in the print category, and was awarded a month-long internship with Outlook bureau in New Delhi or Mumbai. Jamma Jagannath and Divya Gojer, both from Indian Institute of Journalism and New Media, Bangalore, were adjudged Runners-up in the print and television categories, respectively.

Kusum Devi from New Delhi was declared winner of ‘CNN Citizen Journalist Award’ for her audio-visual report on ‘Usage of Right to Information Act for her child’s admission into a public school’. She was awarded with a trophy, a citation, a digital camera and a cash prize of Rs 20,000. Dharmesh Shah from Chennai and Puneet Joshi from Bangalore won the Runners-up awards for their audio-visual report on ‘Carbon emission from Chennai’s garbage dumping grounds’ and ‘Traffic congestion and excessive honking in the city with a creative twist’, respectively.

Sujan Singh from Planman Media, New Delhi, was winner of the ‘CNN Photo Journalist of the Year’, for his pictorial depiction of ‘Police comes to the culprit’s rescue’. He was awarded with a digital SLR camera, trophy and citation. Shahbaz Khan from the Press Trust of India, New Delhi, was adjudged Runner-up for his series of photographs on ‘Police cover up prime accused of Noida serial killings’. He was awarded with a digital camera, trophy and citation.

Rubab Karrar from The Herald, Karachi, won the ‘CNN Journalist Award’ for her story ‘Inside the Mosque’, and was awarded with a laptop, trophy and citation.

Congratulating the winners and participants of CNN YJA 2007, Phillip Turner, Bureau Chief-New Delhi, CNN, said, “I congratulate all the winners, runners-up and all those who participated in CNN Young Journalist Award 2007. I hope they will continue to pursue the fundamentals of journalism – fairness, balance and objectivity. I would especially like to congratulate the winners of ‘CNN Journalist Award’ and ‘CNN Photo Journalist Award’, and thank all those who participated and made these newly introduced categories so successful. As a journalist myself, I am delighted to be associated with awards that honour responsible and quality journalism.”

Mallika Kapur, Reporter and Producer, CNN International, said, “We are delighted at the tremendous response that CNN YJA has received for all the categories in the region. We continue to be amazed at the high quality of journalism that we see every year from this competition. We see CNN YJA as a way to pay tribute to the spirit of unbiased journalism in India and Pakistan.”

The CNN YJA awards were instituted in 2003, with the aim to recognise and nurture journalistic talent among young media professionals in India and promote quality journalism. In 2004, the CNN YJA was extended to include Pakistan. To coincide with CNN’s 25th anniversary in 2005, a special category, ‘CNN Cameraperson of the Year Award’, was introduced. In 2006, the ‘CNN Aspiring Journalist Award’ and ‘CNN Citizen Journalist Award’ categories were instituted.


Kranti Gada joined the family business at Shemaroo in 2006 after a successful stint of over two years in marketing at Pepsi Co. She has been associated with the company for 12 years.

Exchange4media interacted with Jaspreet Chandok, Vice President and Head (Fashion) , IMG Reliance Pvt. Ltd on seamless brands integrations planned for Lakme Fashion Week, walking tall despite blazing trails like GST, demonetization and being a part of the larger cultural space

Their strategy to educate the consumers to make well informed decisions at all stages has worked out well.

Bobby Pawar, MD, CCO - South Asia, Publicis India, talks about his idea of chilling out

Launches third phase of TVC campaign ‘Think it. Done’

Based in Mumbai, Usha has nearly two decades of experience in the Indian media and entertainment sector and will serve as a strategic advisor to H+K’s diverse portfolio of clients with a special empha...

Report based on media channel data in 96 countries and detailed findings from the world‘s key ad markets, which between them account for approximately two-thirds of the value of global advertising tra...