Top Story


Home >> Advertising >> Article

CNN announces fifth edition of CNN Young Journalist Award

Font Size   16
CNN announces fifth edition of CNN Young Journalist Award

CNN has announced the launch of the fifth edition of the CNN Young Journalist Award (CNN YJA). Launched in India in 2003, CNN YJA recognises and encourages quality journalism among young media professionals in India and Pakistan. Two new categories have been introduced this year -- the CNN Photo Journalist Award and the CNN Journalist Award.

The CNN Journalist Award, introduced in celebration of the 60th year of Independence of India and Pakistan, honours journalism that reflects the social and political realities of the respective countries. Open to all Indian and Pakistani journalists irrespective of age, nominations are open to print, online and television journalists covering the broader and deeper issues in Indian or Pakistani society, with a focus on factors of social development.

Phillip Turner, New Delhi Bureau Chief, CNN, said, “As a journalist myself, I am delighted to be associated with awards that honour responsible and quality journalism. While the CNN YJA is an attempt at nurturing promising journalistic potential, the CNN Journalist Award salutes the best of insightful Indian and Pakistani journalists and their efforts in voicing often-unpopular issues and concerns, issues that often require great courage. The CNN Photo Journalist Award will recognise the rich tradition and contribution that photojournalists have made to this industry in India and Pakistan.”

This year’s awards will continue with the CNN Aspiring Journalist Award (CNN AJA) and the CNN Citizen Journalist Award (CNN CJA) that were introduced in 2006. The former is targetted at journalism students, while the latter will pay tribute to ‘citizen journalists’ whose compelling submissions aid the newsgathering process.

Entries are invited from different media categories such as print, online, photographic and television. All entries to be eligible for the award, with the exception of entries from journalism students, should be published or aired between January 1, 2007 and September 30, 2007.

Entrants to the CNN AJA must submit an essay of 1,000 words on the topic, ‘Has the media broadened its reach only to narrow its focus?’ The shortlisted participants in television or print category will then be invited to Delhi to participate in an on-the-spot contest, which will determine the winners for the category.

The deadline for entries is October 12, 2007. Judging of the entries will take place in November by a prestigious panel, and winners of the annual award will be announced at a gala ceremony in Delhi in December.


Our typical marketing budget is usually 10 per cent of the topline spend

There are some forces impacting the way our business works. The IT/ITeS sector has changed tremendously. Platforms like Twitter have made everyone journalists. Smartphones have made everyone a photographer. The trend that we are seeing is one of hyperdigitalization, which is causing the lines between product and services to blur. For example, <a href=

The OOH sector is among the fastest growing, globally. Brands and marketers have realized its potential and impact and begun to craft medium-specific adverts. Self-regulation is not only necessary but also essential to growth of the sector. The industry needs to exercise a certain level of this self-restraint to prove its commitment to maintaining the best standards in advertising.

<b>Clients are looking for experiential solutions beyond radio or print: Abraham Thomas, Radio City 91.1 FM</b><br><br> From entering new markets to launching large format events, Radio City 91.1FM has been on a roll. The radio channel recently announced the launch of India’s biggest singing talent hunt-Radio City Super Singer Season 8. Earlier this year, the channel set up its own creative-cum...

The interesting animated rap music video encapsulates Droom’s ecosystem tools and their role in facilitating second-hand automobile transactions

Perfumes are invisible and these new ads from Skinn create a story out of this

New campaign aims at first-time users by providing ‘first-night free’ – a first-ever offering by the brand on online hotels booking