Top Story


Home >> Advertising >> Article

Clio Awards 2006: Contract’s Avinash Baliga heads for Young Creatives Program

Font Size   16
Clio Awards 2006: Contract’s Avinash Baliga heads for Young Creatives Program

A dozen creatives under 33 years of age will respond to a brief from the United Nations in Clio’s third 24-hour challenge, at the Future Gold | Young Creatives Program during the Clio Festival 2006. Among the chosen 12 is Junior Copywriter from Contract’s Mumbai office, Avinash Baliga.

Junior copywriters and art directors from advertising agencies around the world were invited to apply. A team of experienced creatives reviewed all materials and selected 12 applicants representing the best-of-the-best from across the globe (two participants from each of the six world regions).

Said an elated Baliga, “We had to send in six pieces of portfolio work, and the selection was based on that. This is the first time I’ve entered a competition, and am looking forward to it.” Baliga, 24, has been with Contract for two and a half years now, and this is his first job.

The 12 participants will be split as six teams of two each for the contest. They are in with a chance to win a Gold Clio Plaque. A group of Clio jury members will provide feedback on preliminary presentations before selecting three teams – the finalists. The three finalists will then present their ideas to Elisabeth Nolet, Head of Public Affairs, Private Sector and Public Affairs, External Relations, United Nations, before an audience of Clio delegates at the annual Clio Festival. The winning Future Gold team will be named at the Clio Content & Contact, Print, Internet, Design & Innovative Media Awards on May 15, 2006, said the organisers.

The other 11 participants for the 2006 Future Gold: Young Creatives Program are Robbie Brammall of Clemenger BBDO Sydney, Alessandro Bernardo and David Romanetto of Giovanni, FCB, São Paulo, Anthony Chelvanathan and Steve Persico of Leo Burnett, Toronto, Yee Kiang Tan of Naga DDB Malaysia, Anthea Goodrick of Clemenger BBDO Wellington, Ÿystein Vik of BBDO Oslo, Mihnea Gheorghiu, of Leo Burnett & Target, Bucharest, Veronica Johnson of DDB Dallas, and Menno Kluin, of Saatchi & Saatchi New York.

The program is coordinated by the Clio Awards, in conjunction with Ignacio Oreamuno, director of ihavanidea. Getty Images is the exclusive image sponsor of the program, and will supply all images used in the brief and presentations. Adobe Systems will supply all software used by the participants in developing their presentations. Apple Computer is a technology sponsor.

The Clio Awards were founded in 1959 to celebrate creative excellence and innovation in advertising. Joining the jury in 2006 from India is Elsie Nanji, Executive Creative Director, Ambience Publicis. She is part of the Television / Cinema jury.


Kranti Gada joined the family business at Shemaroo in 2006 after a successful stint of over two years in marketing at Pepsi Co. She has been associated with the company for 12 years.

Exchange4media interacted with Jaspreet Chandok, Vice President and Head (Fashion) , IMG Reliance Pvt. Ltd on seamless brands integrations planned for Lakme Fashion Week, walking tall despite blazing trails like GST, demonetization and being a part of the larger cultural space

Their strategy to educate the consumers to make well informed decisions at all stages has worked out well.

Bobby Pawar, MD, CCO - South Asia, Publicis India, talks about his idea of chilling out

WhatClicks promises to be an unbiased, objective, third-party audit firm that will work with advertisers and agencies alike to help build an effective and integrated digital strategy.

V-Guard Industries, a household name for consumer electrical appliances in India, has revamped its logo in order to reflect the strength gained by the brand over the years. The company has also unveil...

The report reveals that there has been nearly 5 times more growth in video consumption in the last 12 months, with 96 percent of all usage being focused on long form video