Top Story


Home >> Cannes >> Article

Cannes Lions 2009: Chax, Sujata Keshavan Guha, Leena Basrur among jury members

Font Size   16
Cannes Lions 2009: Chax, Sujata Keshavan Guha, Leena Basrur among jury members

Cannes Lions 2009 has announced the jury members of the Design, Direct and Outdoor Lions’ juries. Quite a few Indians have made it to the jury list this year. Ray+Keshavan Sujata Keshavan Guha is on the Design jury list, while Direxions Marketing Solutions’ Leena Basrur is on the Direct Lions jury. DraftFCB+Ulka’s Chax is on Outdoor Lions’ jury list.

In a prepared statement, Philip Thomas, CEO of the Festival, said, “Cannes Lions is a truly global event that awards and celebrates the best creative work produced by our industry today. The results of the juries decision ultimately inspires greater creative heights, so we are delighted to have appointed brilliant experts of these three mediums from around the world to take on this important task.”

Following is the detailed list of all the members on the Design, Direct and Outdoor Lions’ juries.

Design Lions Jury

Sylvia Vitale Rotta, CEO, Team Creatif is the Jury President. The jury members are: Vince Frost, Creative Director & Chairman, Frost*Design; Luciano Deos, CEO, GAD Canada; Lisa Greenberg, Partner & Creative Director, GJP Advertising + Design; Mirko Borsche, Creative Director, Bureau Mirko Borsche; Sujata Keshavan Guha, MD & Executive Creative Director, Ray+Keshavan; Alberto Baccari, Creative Director, TW2; Morihiro Harano, Creative Director, Drill Inc.; Ali Shabaz, Executive Creative Director, JWT Singapore; Gaby De Abreu, Group Creative Director, The Switch Design Company; Hans Brindfors, Creative Director, The Brand Union; Stephen Bell, Executive Creative Director, Coley Porter Bell; Greg Quinton, Creative Partner, The Partners; Jennifer Morla, President/Creative Director, Morla Design; and Marc Shillum, Vice President & Director of Brand Design, R/GA.

Direct Lions Jury

David Sable, Vice Chairman & COO, Wunderman is the Jury President. The jury members are: Roberto Patxot, Regional Creative Director, OgilvyOne Worldwide; Gavin McLeod, Creative Director, M&C Saatchi/Mark; Grant Rutherford, Executive Creative Director, DDB Group; Gerda Reichl-Schebesta, Creative Director, TBWA\Wien; Stijn Gansemans, Creative Director & Partner, Openhere; Rui Piranda, Senior Creative Director, Giovanni+Draftfcb; Philippe Meunier, Creative Chief & Senior Partner, Sid Lee; Rodrigo Edwards, CEO, Edwards Asociados; Chandra Benjamin Mostov, Partner & COO, Wunderman; Nicolas Taubes, Executive Creative Director, Tequila; Walter Ploetz, Executive Creative Director, Publicis Hamburg; Roman Kretzer, Executive Creative Director, gkk DialogGroup / Scholz & Friends; Leena Basrur, Executive Chairman, Direxions Marketing Solutions; Michele Sechi, Creative Director, Arc Leo Burnett; Masaru Kitakaze, Creative Director, Hakuhodo; Ronald Ng, Chief Creative Officer, BBDO/Proximity Malaysia; Wayne Pick, Executive Creative Director, RAPP New; Stein Simonsen, Copywriter, Dinamo; João Geada, Creative Director, JWT Lisbon; Farrokh Madon, Executive Creative Director, McCann Erickson Singapore; Pepe Marais, Executive Creative Director, Joe Public; Alfonso Marián, Executive Creative Director, Shackleton Direct; Gunnar Skarland, Senior Art Director, GOSS; Daniel Bruengger, Managing Director, Bruengger Bachmann Dialog; Dominic Stallard, Executive Creative Director - Regional Unilever (Asia), Lowe; Antoine Houtsma, Creative Director, Doom&Dickson; Peter Bidenko, Executive Creative Director, Impact Proximity; Steve Aldridge, Creative Partner & Chairman, Partners Andrews Aldridge; Daren Kay, Executive Creative Director, Tullo Marshall Warren; and Victoria Azarian, Senior Partner & Creative Director, Ogilvy & Mather, New York

Outdoor Lions Jury

Akira Kagami, Executive Officer & Global Executive Creative Director, Dentsu is the Jury President. The jury members include, Gonzalo Vecino, General Creative Director, JWT Argentina; Matt Eastwood, Vice Chairman & National Creative Director, DDB Sydney; Alexandre Peralta, CEI & Chief Creative Officer, StrawberryFrog; Anne De Maupeou, Co-President, Marcel; Christian Mommertz, Executive Creative Director, Ogilvy Frankfurt; KS Chax, National Creative Director, DraftFCB+Ulka; Victor Ng, Executive Creative Director, Euro RSCG Singapore; Andrew Whitehouse, Executive Creative Director, FoxP2; Jürgen Krieger, Executive Creative Director, Grey Barcelona; James Dennis Makanas, Creative Director, BBDO Bangkok; Graham Fink, Creative Director, M&C Saatchi; and José Mollá, Founder & Executive Creative Director, la comunidad.

Judging will take place in Cannes during the Festival week, with the Direct winners being announced on Monday, June 22; the Outdoor winners on Tuesday, June 23; and the winners of the Design category, now in its second year, will be honoured on Wednesday, June 24.

Also read:

Cannes Lions 2009: Meera Sharath Chandra, Atul Nath, Ashish Khazanchi on jury list

Lynn de Souza on Cannes Lions 2009 media jury


Karthik Raman, Chief Marketing Officer, IDBI Federal Life Insurance, on the brand’s unconventional approach to marketing and priorities for the next year

Vinik Karnik, Business Head - ESP Properties, talked about what went into conceptualising the first edition of the entertainment marketing report, Showbiz

Rahul Jhamb, Brand Head, Forever 21, on how the fast fashion brand always stays on the pulse of latest marketing trends

Heavy spends on OOH and print sum up this year’s ad spends of YLG Salon

Conceptualised and executed by WATConsult, the campaign focuses on how Lotus Make-up is an enabler for women from various walks of life

iProspect released the third annual 2018 Future Focus Whitepaper geared to examine how machines and technology will impact marketing and advertising in the year ahead

Mavcomm Consulting one of India’s leading Public Relations, Reputation Management& Brand Communications company today announced elevation of Pranjal Dutta to the role of CEO