Agnello Dias is IMPACT Person of the Year; Haresh Chawla is Editorial Choice

Agnello Dias is IMPACT Person of the Year; Haresh Chawla is Editorial Choice

Author | exchange4media News Service | Friday, Dec 09,2011 7:24 AM

Agnello Dias is IMPACT Person of the Year; Haresh Chawla is Editorial Choice

The suspense is over. Agnello Dias, Chairman & Co-founder, TapRoot India, has been crowned IMPACT Person of the Year 2011 at a glittering ceremony held in Mumbai at the ITC Grand Central, Parel, on December 8, 2011.

Haresh Chawla, Group CEO, Viacom18, has been conferred the IMPACT Person of the Year - Editorial Choice award. Dias and Chawla were among the eight industry stalwarts nominated for IPOY Award this year.

Governor of Punjab, Shivraj V Patil, graced the occasion as Chief Guest. The IMPACT Person of the Year Award has been honouring individuals who have made the maximum impact in a particular year – both in terms of outstanding personal achievement and contribution to the industry.

Advertising wordsmith Agnello Dias has been a pioneer in the creative world for about two decades. He is also the brain behind the latest Airtel jingle “Har ek friend zaroori hota hai”, which has got the nation’s youth humming. He has won laurels on several international award platforms with winning stints at Leo Burnett and JWT. Over the years, Dias has become one of the most influential people in Indian advertising for reinstating faith in creative entrepreneurship in India.

Haresh Chawla has been with the Network18 Group for the last 10 years. Within a short time, both Network18 as well as the Viacom18 Group have reached out to more than 300 million households across platforms - television, print, films, mobile and Internet under his leadership. Chawla has led unprecedented growth to put all brands in the Viacom18 Group (MTV, Nick, Vh1 and Studio18, Colors) in leadership position. With brands that reach out to all possible demographics, Viacom18 is today India’s leading multimedia entertainment platform.

The other nominees this year included: Madhukar Kamath, MD & CEO, Mudra Group; Man Jit Singh, CEO, Multi Screen Media (MSM); Rajiv Verma, CEO, Hindustan Times Media Ltd; Ronnie Screwvala, CEO and Founder Chairman of UTV Group; Sandeep Goyal, Non-Executive Founder Chairman, Dentsu India; and Vineet Jain, Managing Director, Times Group.

Past winners include Peter Mukerjea (then CEO of STAR India) (2005); Rajdeep Sardesai, Editor-in-Chief of CNN-IBN (2006); Dr Vijay Mallya, Chairman, UB Group (2007); Lalit Modi, Former Commissioner, Indian Premier League (IPL) and Raghav Bahl, Founding/ Controlling Shareholder & Managing Director – Network 18 (2008); Rajesh Kamat, CEO, CA Media (then CEO Colors) (2009). Last year, the award went to Uday Shankar, CEO, STAR India.

The selection process has been handled by IMRB International on the basis of industry-wide polls. Join us in congratulating both Dias and Chawla on their remarkable achievements.

Write A Comment