ABC elects Deccan Herald's Shanth Kumar as president

ABC elects Deccan Herald's Shanth Kumar as president

Author | Noor Fathima Warsia | Saturday, Sep 25,2004 7:43 AM

ABC elects Deccan Herald's Shanth Kumar as president

Following the Indian Newspaper Society’s (INS) Executive Committee election on Thursday, it is now Audit Bureau of Circulation’s (ABC) turn to bring in a new order. At its annual general meeting, held on Friday, ABC has elected Deccan Herald’s Shanth Kumar as the new President for 2004-05. Kumar was a sitting member of the ABC council. He takes on the duties of President from Krishan Prem Narayan of Prem Associates. Narayan stepped down from the president’s chair with the completion of his term.

Among other developments that took place in the meeting, two sitting members were defeated for the first time: Punjab Kesari’s Ashwini Chopra and Gujarat Samachar’s Smruti Shah. With this, three seats in the council were vacated.

Kurus N. Grant of ITC Ltd. will be the Deputy Chairman of the management council and Prem Mehta, Chairman and MD, Lowe India, will be Honorary Secretary. Sam Balsara of Madison Communications will continue as Honorary Treasurer from last year. Among the council members are Shailesh Gupta of Jagran Publications, Venkat Ram Reddy of Deccan Chronicle, Shobhana Bhartia of Hindustan Times, C.H. Kiran of Ennadu, Amitava Dutta of ABP and Vijay Darda of Lokmat.

Anil Kapoor of FCB Ulka, Nabankur Gupta of Raymond Ltd., Subrato Chattopadhyay of Pepsi Foods and A.K. Shukla of LIC will represent advertisers.

Tags: e4m

Write A Comment