Abby continues at GoaFest; Shashi Sinha chairs awards

Abby continues at GoaFest; Shashi Sinha chairs awards

Author | Noor Fathima Warsia | Thursday, Jan 27,2011 7:15 AM

Abby continues at GoaFest; Shashi Sinha chairs awards

After nearly months of discussion on the subject, the Advertising Agencies Association of India (AAAI) and the Ad Club Bombay have finally resolved the issues brewing on Abby awards and the controversies surrounding it. It has been decided by both bodies that the Abby Awards would continue to take place at GoaFest.

The two bodies have created an Awards Governing Council (AGC) that would include four members of the AAAI and four members of the Ad Club. Shashi Sinha (CEO, Lodestar UM India) would be the Chairman of this Council.

The four members are still in the process of being finalised from both AAAI and Ad Club, but some names that can be expected to be on the Council from the Ad Club are Times Group’s Dr Bhaskar Das (President – Ad Club Bombay), Times Television Network’s Sunil Lulla and Percept’s Ajay Chandwani. From AAAI, Draftfcb Ulka’s Nagesh Alai (President-AAAI), Euro RSCG’s Suman Srivastava, RK Swamy Group’s Srinivasan Sundar Swamy and Leo Burnett India’s Arvind Sharma are expected to be on this Council.

The final names should be known soon.

As is known, the Abby Awards, specifically in context to creative Abbys had come under much fire last year in context to the judging process, where a few jury members were found to be unfair in the judging. The Ad Club had even requested agencies implicated to return awards and some agencies had done so too.

The discussions between Ad Club Bombay and AAAI were on how Abby Awards should take place so as to avoid instances that question the credibility of the awards and in turn impact GoaFest.

Write A Comment