Top Story


Home >> Marketing >> Article

Hunt begins for Teacher’s Achievement Awards 2005 honours

Font Size   16
Hunt begins for Teacher’s Achievement Awards 2005 honours

This is a special year for Teacher’s Scotch whisky for more reasons than one – it is celebrating its 175th anniversary across the world; it continues to celebrate its leadership position in the scotch segment in India and is set to host the Teacher’s Achievement Awards for the fifth successful year. The festivities have commenced with the proud announcement of the nominations in various categories for the Teacher’s Achievement Award 2005.

The Teacher’s Achievement awards were instituted in 2001. These annual awards aim to recognise individual accomplishments, with the twin objective of honouring excellence as well as inspiring others to scale new heights. The awards recognise excellence in five different categories, namely Business, Sports, Communication, Entertainment and Teacher’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

The nominees in the Business category for 2005 include Capt G.R. Gopinath, Managing Director Air Deccan; Analjit Singh, Chairman, Max New York Life India; SubhinderSingh Prem, Managing Director, Reebok India; V.G. Sidhartha, Chairman, Amalgamated Bean Coffee Trading Company Ltd and Subir Raha, Chairman and Managing Director of ONGC. The high profile jury that has been appointed to select a winner from this category includes stalwarts like Bharat Patel, Chairman, Procter & Gamble Hygiene and Health Care Limited; Gita Piramal, Managing Editor, The Smart Manager; and S.M. Datta, Chairman of EID Parry (India) Ltd.

In the Communications category, the nominees include Prasoon Pandey, (Ad film maker), Director of Corcoise Films; Rajiv Menon (Cinematographer, Photographer, Ad film maker & Film Director) Partner, Rajiv Menon Productions; Atul Kasbekar (Photographer) Chairman of Photographers Guild of India and Owner of Negative Space; Prabuddha Dasgupta (Photographer); Ram Madhvani (Film and Ad maker), Director of Equinox Films; Tarun Khiwal (Photographer) and Preeti Vyas Gianetti (Ad film maker) Chairperson & Chief Creative Director of Vyas Gianetti Creative.

The panel of judges for the Communications includes stalwarts like Kiran Khalap, Co-founder Chlorophyll-Brand and Communications Consultancy Ltd.; Prahalad Kakkar CEO, Genesis Films and Syeda Imam, Executive Creative Director, Contract Advertising.

The nominees in the Entertainment category include Rabbi Shergill (singer); Mandira Bedi (actress & TV personality); Anu Malik (music director); and Sonu Nigam (playback singer & actor). Choosing a winner from this category will be a jury comprising Ustad Amjad Ali Khan, Sarod Maestro; Pt. Shiv Kumar Sharma, Santoor Maestro and Music Director; Ramesh Sippy, Director, R.S. Productions and Manmohan Shetty, Chairperson, Adlabs Films Pvt. Ltd.

Achievers who have been named as nominees in the Sports category include Narain Karthikeyan (F 1 racing champion); Karun Chandhok (F 3 racing Champion); Jyoti Randhawa (ace golfer); Arjun Atwal (ace golfer) and Anjali Bhagwat (ace shooter). Judging the category for a winner will be P.K. Banerjee (Former Football player); Milkha Singh (former ace athlete) and Zafar Iqbal (former Indian hockey coach).

Announcing the ‘Teacher’s Achievement Awards 2005’, Mr Harish Moolchandani, Managing Director, Allied Domecq Spirits and Wine (I) Pvt Ltd said, “With each passing year, we have aimed at making Teacher’s Achievement Awards an aspiration and an ode to the invincible spirit of triumph. We are pleased that the awards have been successful in recognising individual talents in various spheres of life and have also been able to influence others to strive for recognition. This is a memorable year for the brand with 2005 being the 5th successive year of the Teacher’s Achievement Awards and the 175th Anniversary of Teacher’s Scotch whisky. ”

The process of nomination and selection of the nominees and the winners is validated by KPMG, the leading global audit firm. The eligibility criteria for a Teacher’s Achievement Awards nominations are stringent and follow a strict, bias-free process. Some of the critical deciding factors include a proven track record, originality and innovation, peer recognition and significant milestones achieved in the chosen area of expertise, among others.

Along with KPMG, an esteemed advisory panel consisting of O.S. Kanwar, S.K. Bhargava, Piyush Pandey, Pritish Nandy, Ayaz Menon, Louis Banks, Ustad Amjad Ali Khan and Kris Srikkanth has been instrumental in guiding and suggesting the nominations this year.

The winners of the Teacher’s Achievement Awards 2005 will be announced at a gala awards presentation ceremony on November 26th this year at Taj Lands End, Mumbai.


Abhishek Punia, Co-founder and COO of ARM Worldwide, tells about how they re-branded themselves from ARM Digital to ARM Worldwide and in the process marked their presence globally

Srinivasan opens up on what prompted their recent rebrand, their foray into bus depots and developing the software that displays Bengaluru Metropolitan Transport Corporation's (BMTC) Passenger Information System for all the major bus depots in Bangalore.

Software and Technology, Consulting, Healthcare seem to be increasingly using Webinars to engage with their clients and employees

Chandy indulges in his love for reading and learning something new over the weekends

Though revenue from media operations grew by 10.6% yoy to Rs 760.8cr, the film production revenue declined by 18.0% yoy

At the inaugural one-on-one session between Aroon Purie, Chairman & Editor-in-chief of India Today Group and Anurag Batra, Chairman & Editor-in-chief BW Businessworld & Exchage4media Group, Purie spok...

At the 11th Indian Magazine Congress in New Delhi Rajdeep Sardesai, Consulting Editor, India Today, remembered the time when he used to work for Times of India